CHS > About > Leadership

Board of Directors

Children's Home Society is governed by a 24-member Board of Directors composed of individuals in Eastern and Western South Dakota.

  •  Tim Hamel, Sioux Falls, President
  •  Laura Johnson, Reva, Vice President
  •  Scott Sletten, Sioux Falls, Secretary
  •  Mick Gibbs, Sioux Falls, Treasurer
  •  Sally Anderson, Mesquite, TX (Honorary)* 
  •  Jim Berman, Sioux Falls
  •  Helen Boer, Lyons
  •  Darla Crown, Rapid City
  •  Paulette Davidson, Rapid City
  •  Gina Hopkins, Sioux Falls
  •  Lafawn Janis, Rapid City
  •  Deanna Larson, Sioux Falls
  •  Eric Lee, Rapid City
  •  Jack Marsh, Sioux Falls
  •  John McGrath, Sioux Falls
  •  Dustin Morrison, Rapid City
  •  John Rozell, Sioux Falls
  •  Maggie Russo, Aberdeen
  •  Tim Rustand, Sioux Falls
  •  Karen Schreier, Sioux Falls
  •  Greg Schweiss, Rapid City
  •  Norbert Sebade, Rapid City
  •  Chirag Shukla, Sioux Falls
  •  Carolynn Stavenger, Sioux Falls
  •  Maureen Suga, Sioux Falls
  •  Marilyn VanDemark, Sioux Falls
  •  Meg Warder, Rapid City

*Sally Anderson is a descendant of our founder Elizabeth Sherrard.

Learn more about our Programs and Services.

Staff Leadership

  •  Michelle Lavallee, Chief Executive Officer
  •  Karl Jegeris, Chief Operating Officer
  •  Joe Herdina, Chief Financial Officer
  •  Mark Niemeyer, Chief People Officer
  •  Rick Weber, Children's Home Foundation Development Director
  •  Freddy Maseman, Black Hills Children's Home Program Director
  •  Sue Williams, Sioux Falls Children's Home Program Director
  •  Mike Groher, Director of Schools
  •  Chelsie Ogaard, Black Hills Community Based Services Program Director
  •  Ondrea Patzlaff, Sioux Falls Community Based Services Program Director
  •  Tifanie Petro, Advocacy and Prevention Program Director
  •  Amy Carter, Children's Inn and Bright Start Operations Director
  •  Kathy Schneider, Bright Start Nurse Supervisor
  •  Jeff Lush, Accounting Director
  •  Mike McKnight, IT Director
  •  Janet Andersen, Marketing and Communications Director
  •  Sequoia Crosswhite, Cultural Relations Advisor
  •  Jody Carpenter, Compliance Director