Children’s Home Society and Foundation Welcome New Board Members

Posted on October 10, 2023

Sioux Falls, SD. At their Annual Meeting, the Board of both Children’s Home Society of South Dakota (CHS) and the Children’s Home Foundation (CHF) welcomed new members.

“Our two Boards are a very strong group of outstanding South Dakotans,” said CHS CEO Michelle Lavallee. “They show great passion for our mission and the people we serve.”

New CHS Board members elected were Heath Ducheneaux, from Kyle, and Steve Flanery, John Nooney, and Dr. Scott Van Dam from Rapid City.

Outgoing members who were honored for their service were Helen Boer, Mick Gibbs, Tim Hamel, and Deanna Larson. CHS is profoundly grateful for their leadership and many contributions. Deanna Larson resigned her Board position allowing her to join the CHS staff as their Chief Operating Officer.

CHS Board officers are President: Deb Soholt, Vice President: Jack Marsh, Treasurer: Gina Hopkins, and Secretary: Dustin Morrison.

Other Board members are Sally Anderson (Honorary), Matt Benne, Jim Berman, Darla Crown, Paulette Davidson, Tim Dougherty, Lafawn Janis, Laura Johnson, Melissa Johnson, Amy Koenig, Eric Lee, Luke Lindberg, John Rozell, Jim Schmidt, Greg Schweiss, Scott Scofield, Chirag Shukla, Scott Sletten, and Carolynn Stavenger.

The new CHF Board members are Marty DesLauriers and Val Mickelson, both from Sioux Falls.

The outgoing CHF Board members are Dave Schmidt and George Twitero. Dave and George have been significant contributors to the Board’s success during their tenures.

CHF Board officers are President: Bob Baker, Vice President: Lori Lewison, Treasurer: Bobby Sundby, and Secretary: Kara Flynn.

Other CHF Board Members are Dennis Aanenson, Julie Anderson Friesen, Greg Blomberg, Kim Burma, Diana Dufur-Day, Marty Jackley, Bill Lindquist, Molly Peterson, and Jill Weisser Pekoske.

Click here to view Boards photos and their bios.